skip to main content
1009 N. 6th Ave, Wauchula, FL | Phone: 863-773-9058 | Fax: 863-773-0069

Translate this Page
Hide other sections






The Curriculum Department is a support network for grades pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade.  Hardee County Schools recognize that the very foundation of effective instruction is curriculum.  The Curriculum Department assists in the selection of materials and instructional strategies that align with the Florida Standards.  The department works to provide consistent updates on all revisions and changes in requirements emanating from the Department of Education and support innovation and exemplary teaching within the district's ranks.  


Hardee County Schools District Office

1009 N. 6th Ave.

Wauchula, FL 33873

(863) 773-9058   




Science Textbook Adoption

The Hardee County School District is currently in the textbook adoption process for Science, K-12.  Science materials have been reviewed by local teachers as well as teachers from surrounding districts in the Heartland Educational Consortium.  Materials were reviewed based on 8 criteria: Phenomena, Scientific Practices & Big Ideas, Alignment to Next Generation Sunshine State Standards, Disciplinary Literacy, Learning Progression, Scaffolding & Support, Assessment, and Teacher Usability.  After formal review, the following materials were selected using a ballot voting process within all schools in the district:

Elementary - Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Science Florida K-5 2019

Junior High School - AccelerateLearning STEMscopes 2.0

           High School - McGraw Hill Physical Science 

                                                         - Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Environmental Science

                          - McGraw Hill Marine Science

                                   - Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Physics

          - Pearson Biology


These materials are available for public review through May 23rd in the Curriculum Office at the Hardee County School Board offices.  Please call 863-773-9058 Ext. 1215 or 1225 to schedule an appointment for review.  After May 23rd, a recommendation for approval will be made to the Hardee County School Board for district adoption for a 5 year cycle following the Florida Instructional Materials Adoption Schedule.  


  Congratulations to our 2018 Teacher of the Year and Educational Support Professional of the Year Winners!

Image result for teaching award image

Teacher Of the Year Winners:


Bowling Green Elementary      Hilltop Elementary      North Wauchula Elementary    

                    Courtney Durham                      Ashley Rigney                          Maggie Santana                               


               Wauchula Elementary                     Zolfo Springs Elementary                          

                            Rainey Dickson                                        Helen Neal                       


                                  Hardee Junior High                       Hardee Senior High                        

                                       Jessica Gilliard                                        Rob Beatty                        


Educational Support Professional of the Year Winners:


Bowling Green Elementary       Hilltop Elementary       North Wauchula Elementary              

            Chanda Godwin                          Lorena Alfaro                            Susan Brewer                                         


Wauchula Elementary                     Zolfo Springs Elementary                    

                             Linda Choate                                            Victoria Sanchez      



                 Hardee Junior High                                Hardee Senior High      

                        Sylvia Outley                                                Maria Garza


      Maintenance                                Transportation                               District

       Spud Albritton                                       Dusty Taylor                                Darrell Swafford


  Hardee County District Schools and Wauchula Elementary 

 welcome Jessica Solano, 2017 Florida Teacher of the Year!












Please note: Florida has a very broad public records law. Most written communication to or from our state officials regarding
state business are public records that are available to the public and media upon request.